Water Blog: The Definitive Guide to “How Much Water Should I Drink?”

I’m pretty passionate about drinking water and staying hydrated. As an Ironman Triathlete it’s constantly on my mind: morning, day and night. The sadly outdated standard proposed by “I don’t know who” has us all thinking 8 x 8 oz. glasses of water per day is enough. This “rule” is not supported by any scientific data and simply doesn’t make sense.8 Glasses of Water

Think about it… if you’re a 6’2’’ man weighing 225 lbs or a 5’1’’ woman weighing 105 lbs, does it seem reasonable that you both require that same amount of water per day? Do you think both of these people take in the same amount of food per day? Of course not!

Well, I don’t have any “hard data” either but I have more than 4380 days of anecdotal data that if you choose to follow, you’ll be feeling better than you’ve ever felt before. I can almost guarantee it!

Here are two rules you can follow for How Much Water To Drink Per Day and they’re pretty simple:

  1. Your pee (i.e. urine) should always be clear and copious. (except when you take Vitamin B2, Riboflavin and then it will be bright neon yellow)

  2. Drink at least ⅔ of your body weight in ounces of water per day (not counting workouts).

    1. For example, if you weigh 100 lbs, drink 66 oz. of water per day.

I know this may sound like a lot but trust me, you’ll feel great, beyond great! I know you’ll be heading to the bathroom every hour but it’s worth it. You’ll be more energized, need less sleep, be less grumpy, probably require less food, have better skin, fewer headaches and better poops.

 

1L Nalgene Bottle

A man and his 1L Nalgene Bottle – Attached forever.

I’m a 5’8’’ man weighing about 160 lbs so I should drink about 106 oz. of water per day. I just round up to 128 oz. (1 gallon or 4 liters). Here’s how I do it: 

  1. I start my day with 1L (32 oz.) as I wake up and watch the morning news, checking Facebook and emails.

  2. Even with my morning coffee (which is decaf and doesn’t count toward hydration) I finish another 1L through the morning and lunch.

  3. Between 2-5pm, I’m able to finish my 3rd liter of the day.

  4. Liter 4 is consumed through and after dinner and sometimes isn’t finished until the minute before I go to bed.

I know it sound like a lot but can you see how easy it breaks down throughout the day? And yes, I typically have to get up in the middle of the night to pee but I’ve learned that it is well worth it because waking up in the morning is SO much easier.

Water really is the key to life and too many of us, especially the elderly, live in a dehydrated state. Do the experiment for yourself, see how you feel and let me know what’s working for you. And if you don’t get there today you’ll have a chance to start over tomorrow and the next day….

PS. One final thought, if you’re afraid of Hyponatremia, I wouldn’t worry about it. As long as you’re eating normal meals throughout the day you will be fine. Hyponatremia (a.k.a. Water Intoxication) is a condition where you lose too many electrolytes and you’re only drinking water. This will basically only occur when you’re exercising and sweating a lot, not eating and only drinking plain water. (Disclaimer: I am not a medical doctor and I rely on you to determine what is right for you.)

Leave a Reply

