My Fancy Oatmeal for Breakfast

I’m a 12-year triathlete and an Ironman. People are always asking me what I eat and I’m more than happy to tell them because while my meals aren’t very lavish they do fuel the body. I’m also very lucky in that I don’t get bored easily with what I’m eating even when I eat the same foods day in and day out. Don’t get me wrong, if I had a personal chef or a Star Trek Replicator, it would be a completely different story.

So, on my non-workout mornings for the past 7+ years, I’ve been eating oatmeal for breakfast and it is amazing! I’m going to back up just a bit and preface by saying I eat mostly to fuel my body for my next workout. I’m not an emotional eater or an angry eater. I don’t eat because I’m bored or because food is in plain site. I eat to nourish and fuel my body and I’m conscious of everything I put in it. I’m not perfect and what I eat is always a work in progress.

My goal is to eat cleanly. What I mean is that I’m a big fan of single ingredient foods. Also, I try to eat a protein, a carbohydrate and a fat at every meal. To me, that is balance and my body seems to like it. Also, in case you didn’t know this (and most people don’t) FAT is what satiates the appetite, not protein. Everyone thinks protein fills them up probably because of the Atkins craze years ago but they’re wrong. It’s fat. If you don’t believe me, try this experiment. For dinner, eat one whole avocado (25g fat) and at least 16 oz. of water. That’s all. How do you feel? Did you make it to breakfast? How did you sleep?

Sorry for getting sidetracked, but I get pretty passionate about nutrition. Back to breakfast, here it goes:

Oatmeal with flax seed, almonds and raisins

My oatmeal will make all your friends jealous because it’s delicious, smells great and is so good for you.

I begin with 1 scoop of protein powder, in water. Drink it all. Done.

  • 1/3 cup Quaker 1-minute Oats (that’s one cholesterol lowering ingredient, now I mix in more)
  • Add water (I use 2/3 cups) then microwave it
  • 1 Dash Nutmeg
  • 3 Dashes Cinnamon
  • 1 Tbs Brown Sugar (I know sugar is bad but I can’t help it.)
  • 2 Tbs Raisins
  • 1 Tbs Ground Flax Seeds (good, cholesterol lowering fat)
  • 1 Handful Ground Almonds (good, cholesterol lowering fat)

This is a balanced and delicious meal that keeps me well fueled until lunch. Give it a try and let me know how much you love it!

2 thoughts on “My Fancy Oatmeal for Breakfast

  1. Ooh, that sounds tasty. I usually have oatmeal with sunflower seeds — hadn’t thought of the ground almonds, that sounds great. Plus the nutmeg & cinnamon make it sound all fancy. I wonder if coconut sugar (tastes like brown sugar but is lower in glycemic value) would be a good substitute? You just motivated me to experiment.

Comments are closed.